Iowa Hospitals Named to the 293 Hospitals with 5 Stars from CMS - MedQ

Iowa Hospitals Named to the 293 Hospitals with 5 Stars from CMS

MedQuarter (MedQ) Regional Medical District | March 8th, 2019

CMS updated its Overall Hospital Quality Star Ratings in February, recognizing 293 hospitals with five stars.

CMS’ Hospital Compare website reports on quality measures for more than 4,500 hospitals nationwide. Here is a breakdown of the updated star ratings:
• One star: 282 hospitals
• Two stars: 800 hospitals
• Three stars: 1,264 hospitals
• Four stars: 1,086 hospitals
• Five stars: 293 hospitals

The new star ratings come eight months after CMS postponed its July 2018 update for the second consecutive year due to methodology changes. The updated methodology includes removal of measures with statistically negative loadings and a change to how hospital-acquired infection measures are calculated.

Iowa Specialty Hospital-Belmond
Greater Regional Medical Center (Creston)
Mercy Hospital (Iowa City)
Mercy Medical Center-Cedar Rapids
Montgomery County Memorial Hospital (Red Oak)
St. Luke’s Hospital (Cedar Rapids)
Veterans Memorial Hospital (Waukon)

The MedQuarter is keeping up-to-date on information and resources regarding the pandemic.
See MedQ COVID-19 Business Resources | Support MedQ Businesses